top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaser Focus

Her Campus: Writing Articles -Jade Durkee




In my last article, I described what the club Her Campus is and broke down the different parts of it. In this issue, I will go into more detail on the different kinds of articles students write and the freedom that is encouraged.


Writing articles for Her Campus is one of the first reasons that I became interested in them. While I usually stick to creative writing, Her Campus was a chance for me to branch out into more mainstream kinds of writing. Articles can range from being about beauty and fashion to video games and literature. Our current top article is “How I Use My iPad To Stay Organized” by Olivia Post, who is our club president at HC x Lasell. What I want to highlight is that writers can truly write about whatever topic that comes to their mind. The only real guidelines are a word count, 350 words, and making sure to not “give” advice but rather speak from one’s own experience. Last week, I wrote about my favorite aquatic animals I saw at the New England Aquarium, and it was an absolute blast to write.


At first, I was worried that the difference between creative writing and magazine-style writing would be too difficult for me, and I wouldn’t end up enjoying it. However, that has been far from the case. There are still times when I can use my love for creative writing within my articles, and the ability to do that has given me even more reasons to love writing for HC. One article I wrote recently was ranking Lasell student's favorite numbers; in this article, I was able to describe why I liked certain numbers and why I thought disliked others. While this may seem like a bit of a strange topic to write on, it allowed me to branch out creatively and interact with others within the Lasell Community. Writing articles for HC is genuinely a stress-free activity that I look forward to each week and I love the creative freedom I am given.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page