top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaser Focus

Final Thoughts About Her Campus- Jade Durkee


As the semester is ending, this will be my last article for Laser Focus about Her Campus x Lasell. There’s honestly not too much new information I have about the club, so instead I thought I would give some final remarks. Her Campus x Lasell has truly been a positive influence in my life. I’ve made not only some great friends, but I also learned a lot.  

 

Before my time at HC, I had never had any experience with marketing or magazine-style writing. While neither is truly a passion of mine, it was still super interesting to explore. Being the Marketing Director has put new responsibilities in my day-to-day that I’ve never had before. I had a team I needed to manage and materials that I needed to create. While there were times when it was a little stressful, my HC members were always there to back me up.

 

I’ve always loved writing as a hobby. I’ve been writing poetry since I was 13 years old, and have always enjoyed my writing courses in school. However, the one style of writing I never did was personal articles. Writing about something that’s not fiction, but not argumentative either, at first was a little nerve-wracking. I didn’t know if I was doing it correctly or what it was supposed to look like. However, over time I learned that I really enjoy it. It’s super fun to write about things that interest me and to write in a way that I want to. It doesn’t have to sound fancy, or not use the word “I”. I can just write how I think, which is truly freeing.  

 

This semester has been super fun to write about Her Campus. I’m happy that I got to share with others just how much joy this club brings me, and I hope it encourages others to join as well!

We are always looking for new members!!

7 views0 comments
bottom of page