top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaser Focus

From Pakistan to Auburndale – A Graduation Memoir


I was born and raised in a very small village, named Zarobi, in Pakistan; I got most of my education there. I tell my daughters every day that there are people out there who will accept you and love you no matter who you are, which race you belong to, what you wear, how you speak – no matter how weak your vocabulary is -- and I know that because those kind of people are here, a part of the Lasell community. My time here has taught me to be unapologetically me, no matter how fast the race for opportunities may be. I am very thankful for the opportunity to tell you about my journey to Lasell, the adventures I have had while attending, and how Lasell has pointed me to the future.

My family in Zarobi was a regular middle-class family. My father was in the Air Force and my mom was a housewife. One thing all my family members held in common was the dream to get a good education. Encouraged by my parents, I’ve always had love for learning and a passion to move forward in my life.

I got married in 2007, right after completing my Associates degree in Economics and Political Science and, in 2011 we moved to America. At that time, I was lost, unconfident and had almost forgotten about my dreams. But I always knew something was missing from my life.

I knew nothing about the education system here in the US. Applying to college was an accidental decision. I never believed I could survive. I still remember the fear and anxiety at the time I applied here at Lasell and relive that feeling of excited nerves when I got my acceptance letter. It was hard for me to make my decision to accepting to come here as I knew very little about financial aid and student loans. Everything changed when the second piece of mail arrived, and I found out about the generous scholarship I was receiving. I did not slept a wink in anticipation of starting classes.

That excitement came with nervousness. Even with a scholarship, my tuition expenses made me concerned. I still remember the conversation I had with Jim Tweed, head of admissions. He encouraged me and laid out every penny on paper, so I could see how things would work. He made sure that I was in a good standing. That was the deciding moment for me to continue my education, and I am so proud that I made the decision.

You can ask any new student what they feel when starting college, the excitement of finally being on their own and meeting new friends was probably overwhelming. For me it was a little different. The first day came with excitement and anxiety along with a whole lot of responsibility. The responsibility of raising three kids, looking after our house and transition to a student life after 10 years of being a complete housewife was a lot to take in. It was not easy, but I am very lucky and thankful for support system Lasell as a community gave me.

Thanks to the guidance and support of my professors, tutors, and especially friends, I overcame those fears and flourished the way I dreamed of 10 years ago. This gave me confidence to challenge myself to enter Honors and get into a double major, Finance and Accounting.

Today, I am a completely different person and I live with knowing who I am. That is a gift to be treasured and remembered. The support I received at home and at Lasell made me a better student and a better person. Most importantly, I am a better mother now and am even more confident that I am raising three beautiful and strong daughters. I am proud that I kept my values alive while thriving through the challenges of everyday life.

My time here has also taught me unconditional love and support. I have seen it and received it from my professors and the friends that I’ve made in these three years. And most importantly, Lasell has taught me how to give it back. I hope that my fellow students never forget those lessons. Encourage those around you, especially those who are different than you. Your support and appreciation for others will give them the courage to fight through whatever they might be experiencing. I know it is possible, because you did that for me.

Everyone here has walked these halls differently and learned in class differently, but at graduation we are all celebrating the same new thing, a NEW BEGINNING. So, let’s say thank you to our teachers who gave us the opportunity and strength to fight to make our life interesting during, and, after college because this is a fight worth fighting. Today, this occasion becomes part of the story of my life. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of yours.

38 views0 comments
bottom of page