top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaser Focus

Alternate Universe in Which I Never Learn the Word Sorry: Poem


strangers thank me for bumping into them on the T,

they scooch closer to me.

time is public property

the cashier thanks me for exact change.

i tell my classroom i’ve been feeling strange,

everyone’s eyes smile.

understanding is instantaneous and easy.

when i get excited i get loud,

my enthusiasm is a gift

and i never quiet down.

i start the crowds cheer.

i don’t fear my own thunderous clap.

i am never too much,

i am always enough.

i never lower my gaze

i never feel forced to smile when i’m not happy-

no one asks me to.

strangers never expect submission.

friends forgive without thinking it a favor,

without me asking for permission.

it’s always the thought that counts.

no one owns the ground, i am free to roam.

i have a right to space.

i have a right to air.

i have a right to sound.

my rights are never disputed,

in court or my own head.

everyone knows i am trying

everyone else is trying too.

we are all our best selves

so every day we give thanks.

every day we learn a new forgiveness.

there is always enough hope

to go around.

22 views0 comments
bottom of page