top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaser Focus

What It Means to be a First Generation College Student


My parents were farmers in Northern Spain. They met, fell in love, were married, and moved to the United States. They did not come from a lavish lifestyle but they understood the meaning of hard work — A life lesson that I would learn just a few years later. As an immigrant and daughter of immigrants, I know that nothing in my life will ever be handed to me.

Education is important. I believe that education is one of the most powerful tools for fighting poverty. Neither of my parents went to college, making me a first-generation college student. I understand that not everyone has the privilege to attend college and become educated. I saw first-hand the consequences of not having access to higher education on my trip to Ecuador last May. I spent time in poor villages with amazing children. Because of where they were born, those children will never get the same opportunities as I have. They will never sit in a class with Professor Erin Vicente for an hour and fifteen minutes to improve their public speaking skills. They will never have the chance to work in the Admissions office, or write for the school newspaper, or stuff themselves in the dining hall.

My mom, a single parent, works every day in order to help me pay for my college education. My parents’ love story ended six years ago in 2012 when my dad passed away from cancer. Since I was daddy’s little girl, his death caused me the biggest heartbreak I will ever feel in my life. A year ago my mom decided to melt their wedding bands into one ring. She still wears the ring and has not dated since. They make me believe in true love.

I work hard for the children who do not have access to education. I work hard in memory of my father. I work hard so I don’t waste my mom’s hard earned money. I work hard for myself because I know what I do now will get me to where I want to be in the future.

Identifying what motivates you makes you powerful. I see it as my responsibility to do my best every day because I have been given a chance that others dream of. I take every opportunity given to me. I have been an Orientation Leader, Alternative Spring Break Leader, Student Alumni Association Chairman, LCTV member, 1851 Chronicle writer, BKS Ambassador, CCBL Ambassador, etc. People are more powerful than they realize. As soon as they begin to invest time into work they are passionate about, little is impossible.

I am a 5’2” Latina who feels like she is seven feet tall. I am a first-generation college student and I plan to make my time here matter.

40 views0 comments
bottom of page